Course Content

Bachelor programme IT Security

The course is comprised of four main focal points.

IT operation: system administration, penetration testing

The focus IT operation teaches the purpose and the set-up of current operating systems such as Windows and Unix and their requirement for peripheral equipment. Additionally, associated security concepts and security mechanisms are developed.

Network technology: protocols, security components

The focus network technology aims at addressing computer networking, network topologies and the corresponding protocols, put into practice in laboratories. This knowledge is needed for the analysis of security gaps and of potentials for attack in the later occupational field.

Security technologies: cryptography, hardware token

The focus security technologies provides an overview of the goals of IT Security and of the current threats to it.  Cryptographic methods and tools, identification and authentication also represent important aspects in this area of studies (e.g. card systems, biometrics).

Security management and organisation: risk management, standards

The focus security management teaches students in-depth knowledge of security norms and standards, basic legal principles, and contract law.

Individual specialisation

From the third semester you can individually define your own focus in the areas of

  • IT infrastructure,
  • security management and consulting and
  • malware analysis
    by choosing an elective module.

Practical training

In the final phase of your Bachelor programme the emphasis is on putting theory into practice. Numerous projects with companies and a so-called “crisis week” prepare you in theory and practice for the worst-case scenario, the genuine emergency. Based on the case study "Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery" you analyse technical requirements for systems (storage technologies, mirroring). You make the necessary organizational preparations and keep calm when it comes to extreme situations (crisis management).


In the course of the study programme the following internationally approved certificates can be acquired:

  • CCNA – Cisco Certified Network Associate
  • CCNP – Cisco Certified Network Professional
  • Barracuda NGSE: Next Generation Security Engineer
  • CCSA: Check Point Certified Security Administrator
  • ITIL V3: IT Infrastructure Library
  • ACE®: Access Data Certified Examiner
  • IPMA Level D®
  • CRISAM® Foundation