Course contents

Bachelor programme IT Security

The study programme gives you an all-round education in all key focus areas of IT Security:

IT operations: system administration and penetration testing

The focus area IT Operation teaches the purpose and structure of common operating systems (such as Windows and Linux) as well as the basics of programming. In addition, associated security concepts and mechanisms are created. Students learn how to search the infrastructure of a company for security gaps and detect traces left by the attackers using penetration testing and IT forensics. The study programme also features its own cyber defence centre that students can use to work through “real-world scenarios” with a strong practical relevance.

Network technology: protocols and security components

The focus area Network Technology deals with the networking of computers, with network topologies and the associated protocols. The class offers its own computer centre in which  learning exercises can be implemented and simulated as practice-oriented as possible. The acquired knowledge is relevant for the analysis of security gaps and attack potentials in the future work environment.

Security technologies: cryptography and hardware tokens

The focus area Security Technologies provides an overview of IT Security objectives and of current threat scenarios. Essential components are cryptographic methods and tools, the identification of biometric access systems, and authentication.

Security management and organisation: risk management and standards

In the focus area Security Management and Organisation, students acquire knowledge about security norms and standards, legal foundations, the basics of data protection regulations and contract law. Security management and corporate management round off the focus area.


From semester 3, you have the opportunity to specialize by selecting from elective modules in

  • IT infrastructure,
  • security management and consulting, and
  • malware analysis.

A strong practical focus

The transfer of knowledge to the practical world is an essential part of the education. Numerous projects and the so-called “crisis week” prepare you theoretically and practically for worst-case scenarios. On the basis of a case study, you analyse the technical requirements for systems, make the necessary organisational arrangements and learn to keep cool when it comes to the practical implementation in extreme situations.

For the execution of practice-oriented network and operating system exercises, you have four independent labs with 20 places each and equipped with state-of-the-art PC and virtualisation infrastructure at your disposal. A VPN solution allows you to access these labs from outside the campus premises as well.

Interdisciplinary Elective Module

The iLab programme allows you to participate in an interdisciplinary and intercultural project semester with the working language being English. 


You can obtain the following certifications during the programme:

  • Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
  • Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)
  • Barracuda Next Generation Security Engineer (NGSE)
  • Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA)
  • Information Technology Infrastructure Library Version 3 (ITIL V3)
  • AccessData Certified Examiner (ACE®)
  • IPMA Level D®
  • CRISAM® Foundation